You are currently viewing FHA Mortgage

FHA Mortgage

Many people dream of owning their own homes (the American Dream) but only very few are able to pay cash for them. This is why FHA mortgages are one of the most popular methods in order to find a source for consumer credit. People who could not otherwise afford to own a house become homeowners can become homeowners with the help of the FHA mortgage insurance programs.

The FHA stands for  the Federal Housing Administration. It is  part of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) One of the top priorities of the FHA is to help people obtain financing for the purchase of their homes.

How FHA Mortgage Insurance Works.

As stated earlier, FHA mortgages are a way for homebuyers to obtain financing for their homes. All home purchases require buyers to make a down payment  of a certain set percentage of the total purchase price,
called the down payment.  What the FHA mortgage insurance does therefore is to allow a homebuyer to make a modest down payment and obtain a mortgage for the balance of the purchase price.

The mortgage loan itself is made by an FHA approved bank, savings and loan association, mortgage company, credit union, or any other lender.  For it to become an FHA mortgage loan, the lender
would have to be approved by the Federal Housing Administration. FHA (HUD0 insures then
insures the loan and pays the lender if the borrower defaults on the mortgage. The protection offered by FHA mortgages to lenders allows them to be more liberal with their terms with lower down payments and easier FICO requirements than the prospective homeowner might otherwise obtain.

Who can get an FHA Mortgage?

The good thing about FHA mortgages is that almost anyone can get it. So if you have a satisfactory credit record, enough cash to close the loan and sufficient steady income to make monthly mortgage payments without difficulty, then you’ll have no trouble getting approved for an FHA mortgage. Today’s starting FICO for an FHA home loan is 580. As a rule of thumb, only people who will reside in the property are eligible for FHA-insured mortgages. 

There is no upper age limit set by HUD for the borrower. Nor is there a certain income level that
the borrower must achieve in order to buy a home at a certain price. And although income is certainly an important factor, it is simply one of the several determining factors which are used by the HUD to find whether the borrower will be able to repay the mortgage.

Types of FHA Mortgages

There are several types of mortgages that FHA insures. These include:
✔ One-family residence
✔ Two-, three-, four-unit properties
✔ Condominium units
✔ Houses needing rehabilitation

Expert Mortgage Loan Blog

Share This Post